FloridaTek.com is not trying to install malware, as best I can tell. If you load the page, the places that offer you an EXE are the places that you would click if you wanted technical support from them.
It's a remote desktop sharing application, a webex or similar. (I haven't installed it, but it's a common enough thing for remote assistance sites to use.)
The exe doesn't load silently, as a drive-by piece of malware would, and the download is invoked only if you hit the 'please support me remotely' link.
I wish people would take the extra five minutes to look at these things for themselves.
Come on, somebody actually take the time to really look at things rather than rehashing old, incorrect acticles to make one for yourself. The .exe that is 'everywhere' on the site is downloadable only under the 'support tools' header, where one would expect to find an executable. Guess what... Microsoft does it, HP does it, IBM does it... and yes, even Apple offers executables to download on their site. Add to that, the executable FloridaTek is offering is a common remote support tool *shock*. Figure that... a remote support tool under found in the 'support tools' links. What are they thinking?!
As for the address, give the guys a break. They moved to a new workspace and wrote down the wrong address on their site (twice), big deal. At least they corrected it, and it's not a P.O. box, but a real, physical address.
1) a total hoax, possibly with crimnal intent.
2) a bragadocious kid in his garage pretending he is a real company simply by virtue of having a non-functional online brochure - not only does the store not work, the create account action is pure html, no logic, nothing works. just an html monkey pretending to be a company.
They're like those camera stores with Brooklyn addresses that never have anything in stock. They just take your CC info and try to sell you on ridiculous gray market crap while you fight ot get your money back. Except Psystar is nowhere near that sophisticated.
It's sad that even though the internet is no longer a novelty, people are still willing to believe anything if it has its own domain.
It's Go-L all over again. google for: Miguel Liebermann
paul burrellApr 18th, 2008 - 16:13:04
FloridaTek.com is not trying to install malware, as best I can tell. If you load the page, the places that offer you an EXE are the places that you would click if you wanted technical support from them.
It's a remote desktop sharing application, a webex or similar. (I haven't installed it, but it's a common enough thing for remote assistance sites to use.)
The exe doesn't load silently, as a drive-by piece of malware would, and the download is invoked only if you hit the 'please support me remotely' link.
I wish people would take the extra five minutes to look at these things for themselves.
Report this comment