Previous owner data not scrubbed from refurb Xoom tablets

Image: Motorola.

A massive Monday ‘oops’ for Motorola this morning following news that the American technology heavyweight is guilty of not wiping potentially sensitive user information from refurbished models of its Xoom tablet. Oops, indeed.

According to Motorola, around 100 refurb units of the Xoom tablet sold through Woot.com between October and December 2011 were dispatched containing user information connected to prior owners.

“It is possible that users might have stored photographs and documents [on the refurbished Xooms],” outlined the company in an official press release.

“They may have also stored user names and passwords for email and social media accounts, as well as other password-protected sites and applications,” it added.

Beyond requesting the return of said devices, Motorola has said affected customers will receive a free two-year membership to Experian’s ProtectMyID Alert service.

“Motorola is committed to rigorous data protection practices in order to protect its customers, and will continue to take the necessary steps to achieve this objective,” it pledged.

So, be advised, if you’re sending a faulty consumer electronics device back to the manufacturer—at which point said gadget will likely be sold on once fixed—take care to perform a thorough factory reset to ensure your personal information isn’t at risk.

Like this article? Please share on Facebook and give The Tech Herald a Like too!