Instagram is offering ‘Recently Deleted’ section to add an extra layer of protection and ability to restore posts

Instagram Recently Deleted Feature
Avoid permanent deletion of Instagram posts. Pic credit: Gerd Altmann/Pixabay

Instagram has a new feature called ‘Recently Deleted’. As the name suggests, the feature holds recently deleted posts in a separate virtual vault. Users can choose to let the posts be obliterated or restore the same.

Facebook-owned Instagram is offering a new feature that could protect its users from hackers. The image-based social media platform is apparently struggling to shield its users from targeted attacks.

What is Instagram’s‘ Recently Deleted’ feature and how to use it?

Instagram is adding a new “Recently Deleted” feature. It adds an extra step before a post can be permanently removed from any Instagram account.

The new feature appears very similar to the “recently deleted” folder in the Photos app on iOS or the ‘Recycle Bin’ in Windows 10. Whenever a post is deleted, be it intentional or otherwise, it will stay safe in a separate section of the account’s profile for 30 days.

Needless to mention, any posts that enter the recently deleted folder aren’t openly viewable. However, it is viewable and accessible to the account owner. In other words, Instagram users have 30 days to change their minds and restore the post.

Deleting any post on Instagram is quite easy and straightforward. However, with the introduction of the recently deleted folder, restoring a post is a two-step process.

Henceforth, Instagram will require users to verify their identity via text or email before they’re able to restore a post or remove it permanently. This is similar to a Two-factor Authentication (2FA). However, users must not replace this feature with the regular 2FA process for accessing the account.

Instagram claims the ‘Recently Deleted’ feature will protect its users from hackers:

Instagram users, particularly those with a high number of followers, are vulnerable to hackers. There have been a few cases in which hackers have taken over an account and deleted the posts. Needless to add, having a painstakingly created account drained off all the posts is quite devastating.

With the 2FA authentication, hackers will only be able to place the posts inside the “Recently Deleted” folder. However, they will not be able to permanently delete any posts as they will not have access to the email and mobile phone number to enter the OTP (One Time Password).

Gaining back access to an account that is hacked, is quite difficult. However, with the additional 2FA for post deletion, Instagram account holders will have some solace about their posts remaining safe from permanent erasure.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x